Be a Guest In Your Own Home

11 May

Sometimes we become so accustomed to the sights, smells, and sounds of our homes that we don’t notice them anymore.

Today, imagine that you are a house guest or a potential buyer entering your home for the very first time.

Notice that the plant on the front porch is a musty, dry, shriveled thing, like something The Addams Family would keep.

Notice the the creaking door hinges, the loose drawer, and that sour smell emanating from the refrigerator.

Notice how the tall bookshelf blocks the soft morning light from the window, and how the color of the paint makes the room look smaller than it really is.

Now remember that this is your home.

You deserve better!  Oil those hinges.  Clean out that refrigerator.  Get a new plant.  Consider repainting.  If you can’t afford needed repairs, try to barter with someone who can help.

Take more pride in your home, and you will feel more pride in your life!

14 Responses to “Be a Guest In Your Own Home”

  1. bigsheepcommunications May 11, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Great advice! As a house hunting veteran, I can attest to how oblivious people are to the “issues” in their own homes.
    http://bigsheepcommunications.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/for-sale-weird-creepy-smelly-home/

    • acleansurface May 11, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Loved your post, Big Sheep, thanks for sharing.

  2. Al May 11, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    A classic example of “not seeing the forest for the trees.” Good advice.

  3. Deborah the Closet Monster May 11, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    This is really timely for me. I’ve been saying for a few weeks that I’m going to hire someone to clean for me a few times a month, but it’s been an idle kind of to-do.

    This morning, I returned from walking the dog and really saw my apartment. I can’t control all the clutter my S.O. considers intrinsic in my life, but I can do something to ensure the place feels like home to me as well. Enough throwing my hands up, figuratively.

  4. Dianna May 12, 2011 at 3:26 am #

    Okay, which of my windows have you been peeping in? Thanks for the reminder; I’ll be working on several things today!

    • acleansurface May 12, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

      Dianna, HA, I am guilty of a few of these problems myself, which is what inspired this post.

  5. thedelishdish May 12, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    what a great reminder–i have the worst habit of letting my place go but whenever im at my boyfriends house i make sure to keep it spotless!

    • acleansurface May 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      It is more fun to take care of other people’s homes for some reason!

  6. charlywalker May 13, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Ok..Ok.. I’ll get to it first thing in the morning….LOL

    thanks for the swift kick!

  7. Mindy@FSL May 16, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    I guess I sould clean out my fridge. *sigh* I hate doing that,lol!

  8. LoveYourNME July 23, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    This is what I do every day! I’m going to college to become an interior designer, but for the summer I’m living at home – with the rest of my six-person family. The house-cleaning is always left by the wayside, and we accumulate junk EVERYWHERE. Since it’s a farmhouse way out in the country, we rarely have guests, so there’s not much incentive to clean when we’re already busy. It gets bad, like clean-the-house-once-every-three-months bad. And with the belongings of five other people filling the place up, you can’t try to clean without the others, or you’ll be getting yelled at for moving one thing or another. This is more than the interior designer in me can take! It’s disheartening, really, to see the home I love in such a sad state. I keep saying, “A cluttered house equals a cluttered mind,” but I really think your ending statement directed me more specifically to why it bothers me. I would feel better about myself and the state of my family if we took more pride in our home, and the other things that mean the most to us, by giving it better care.

    • acleansurface July 23, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      Your experience is teaching you what NOT to do. Someday you will be able to decorate your own place! Thank you for visiting, loveYourNME, come again.

Leave a Reply

