Quality Across Time

1 Jun

Material possessions are not on my list of What is Important in Life. However, I like things made with care and quality, things that last.

There have been times in my life when I have bought “disposable” clothing or furniture, and I have always regretted it.

Thrifty as I am, I need to know that what I buy will continue to serve its purpose for many years, and hopefully look beautiful doing it.

NOTE:  I wrote these words many months ago and saved the draft, waiting until I had more to say. I have not been writing on this site, due to having less time and energy to write the kind of posts I want to write. I have decided to go ahead and post my occasional thoughts, however brief they may be.

In this case, I am writing about things made with care and quality and then telling you that I will publish writing with a little bit less care and quality. I do see the irony.

I think, right now, it is more important to bring some care and quality into my Real Life. I care about writing…and so, actually doing it– even in smaller pieces– improves the quality of my Life, if not my Blog.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Quality Across Time”

  1. David Jensen June 2, 2014 at 8:21 pm #

    Excellent. It reminds me of the old saying, “Perfection is the enemy of the good.”
    Keep it up and all the best.

  2. Deborah the Closet Monster June 4, 2014 at 6:07 am #

    I was thinking a like thing about material goods at Target a few days ago. I saw a cute pair of boots and picked it up, only to discover it’s a brand that makes clothes that fall apart within 5-6 wears. I would much rather pay more for something that lasts.

    • David Jensen June 4, 2014 at 11:35 pm #

      Good point, Deborah. High quality goods can be very satisfying and last a long time.

      But as we go about our tasks, sometimes trying achieve the perfect means nothing gets done. I think that applies especially in writing, even in thank you notes. Trying to write the perfect thank you note sometimes means that it never gets written, only delayed or never sent. Better to send a thank you quickly than dilly-dally. The recipient will appreciate the sentiments sooner rather than never.

      • Deborah the Closet Monster June 12, 2014 at 6:13 am #

        I agree, which–along with time constraints, appropriately enough–is why my comment was limited specifically to reflection on material goods procurable in stores.

Leave a comment