Modern Space Saving Designs

19 Feb

Are you a minimalist?  Do you live in a small space?  Do you love seeing great design in action?

Check out these terrific designs from ResourceFurniture and Inhabitat.  Both of these companies surprised me with their brilliant and multifunctional space saving systems for the home.  The first is a video, but it is well worth the time to watch, trust me.

Space Saving Video | ResourceFurniture.

Staircase Drawers | Inhabitat .

Did your jaw drop when you saw these ingenious designs?  Mine sure did.

(Many thanks to a friendly reader, whose own blog post inspired this one.)

8 Responses to “Modern Space Saving Designs”

  1. bigsheepcommunications February 19, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Staircase drawers – that’s an amazingly simple smart idea – I love it!

  2. Frankie February 21, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    OH MY GOD!!! I want EVERYTHING!!! Literally all my dreams have just come true…minus the high price part though lol. I live in a 1 bedroom apartment to save money while I get things going but, I don’t have a dining room since that is where I have set up my office/studio with my drafting table, sewing table, and shelves, which wasn’t enough room for the computer desk so my really cool tv stand works as my desk under where I mounted my flat tv, and my coffee table functions as my dinner table. I’ve learned from Tim Gunn…”Make it work”. Thanks for another great post!

    • acleansurface February 21, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

      Frankie, it sounds like you really are making things work, and I’m sure it will pay off in the future.

  3. somethingnewplease February 22, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    I read somewhere that some engineers are designing robots that will shift and shape into the furniture you need at the moment. That should be interesting for minimalists.. when it comes to pass.

    D

    • acleansurface February 22, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Oh my. I wouldn’t want my furniture to look like a Transformer, and it doesn’t sound very comfortable. The engineers can keep their robots!

  4. Bee February 24, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    The staircase drawers! Wow! I want some!

    • acleansurface February 24, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

      I do too, Bee, and I don’t even have stairs.

Leave a Reply

