I Laughed – #2

23 Feb

Being very distracted by my upcoming move, I decided on a shortcut to my usual goals of simplifying life and maintaining a positive attitude.  To continue my weekly posts, but save myself some time and stress during the moving process, I have cut back on my writing time and am sharing something that makes me laugh each week.

This week’s laugh is about something I did.  It was pretty foolish, and a little costly, but I can laugh about it now.

My son wears a contact lens in one eye.  He gets a new contact lens every two weeks, and I gave him a fresh one in the morning, on the appropriate day.  I was right on top of things, and I was feeling pleased with myself.  My son opened the package, but hadn’t put the lens in yet, and he told me so.  Just seconds later, in a cleaning frenzy, I whisked away the open package.  Into the trash went my son’s expensive custom order lens.

He looked at me.  “Wha…?  Did you just…?”

“Did I what?”

“That was…”

“You mean that lens package?  It was empty wasn’t it?  Didn’t you just put it in?”

“No, I just told you.”

“Oh…ohhh.  You did tell me!  Whoops!”  I peered into the trash.  “Maybe we can…”

“I’m not putting it in now.”

“Don’t worry, I can’t find it anyway.”

19 Responses to “I Laughed – #2”

  1. sunshineinlondon February 24, 2011 at 5:28 am #

    Oops! It’s so easy to get distracted, though …
    Sunshine xx

  2. bigsheepcommunications February 24, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Laughing about anything while in the midst of a move is an accomplishment! Hope it goes smoothly.

    • acleansurface February 24, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      Thanks, BigSheep. I can’t wait to get rid of these boxes!

  3. Currie Rose February 25, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I’m glad you found the humor in that… especially in the midst of a move! 🙂

    • acleansurface February 25, 2011 at 9:43 am #

      We have to laugh at ourselves, sometimes, Currie. Thanks for visiting.

  4. tinkerbelle86 February 26, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    ha…. i laughed too 🙂 my friend used to keep her contact lenses in a glass by the bed. one night she woke up, and half asleep, she drank them. after that she kept them safely in the bathroom

    • acleansurface February 26, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      Yuck! Cleaning solution and all?
      We keep them in the kitchen because it is usually cleaner than the bathroom, and there is more space, but a glass sounds like a bad idea for sure. Thanks for visiting, Tinkerbelle86, I had a peek at your blog and like it. =)

    • My X- it March 2, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      HAHAHAHAHAHA 😀

  5. charlywalker February 28, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    And I thought it was just me….

    I rinsed one of my daughters friends lenses down the bathroom drain…..the plumber retrieved them from the “U” pipe under the sink…..costing me $75 an hour…..Most expensive pair of soft contacts I ever laid eyes on…..

    Spread the humor: charlywalker.wordpress.com

    • acleansurface February 28, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      My goof only cost me about $6 I think–one lens, no plumber. Thanks for visiting CharleyWalker. I look forward to checking out your blog, it looks interesting.

  6. Sherri March 2, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    I’m sure instances like this happens a lot with people who are organized and clean. One thing I can’t stand is countertop ot table clutter.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog The Kitchen Prescription. Got a recipe for those lemon and strawberry sauce pancakes? 🙂

    • acleansurface March 2, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      Sherri, yes, it seems I am not the only one. (I do have a recipe. I’ll try to get it to you soon.)

      • Sherri March 3, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

        Yes, I received it. Thanks so much. Excited to try it. I’ve been on a pancake binge lately.

  7. My X- it March 2, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    i remember dropping my lenses everywhere 😀
    One of my friends will always go like “PEOPLE I LOST MY EYE GLASSES”!!
    Of-course we will always find it on the top of her head LOL

    I’m having fun reading through your blog
    Good luck with the move 😀

  8. oldancestor March 9, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Sounds like Mrs. OA. If I don’t nail it down, it gets chucked.

    • acleansurface March 9, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

      You had better start hammering, then. =)

      • oldancestor March 10, 2011 at 10:32 am #

        You’d get along with her. She likes clean surfaces.

Leave a Reply

