Inconceivable!

12 Jun

My life has been full of surprises this year.

I didn’t expect to move to another state.

I didn’t expect to find a beautiful 100% cashmere, beaded, Oscar de la Renta sweater at The Salvation Army store for $1.99, in my size. Sure, there is a tiny chip on one of the beads. Beads can be replaced, people! Would you give away a classic Mustang because it had a flat tire? I don’t think so.

I didn’t expect to see horizontal lightning while driving home from work. I’m pretty sure they don’t have that kind of lightning back in California.

I didn’t expect to get a bowl of soup with my meal when we went to lunch that day, but there it was…soft yellow, creamy looking, in a little white rimmed bowl, on a little white plate, served with a rounded spoon and two traditional cracker packets. Perfect.

“What kind is it?” my husband asked.

“Cold!” I exclaimed in surprise, “and lemony…or just sour.”

Confusion set in before I realized, with embarrassing clarity, that what I had tasted was not soup at all. This was the Italian dressing for the salad I had ordered.

6 Responses to “Inconceivable!”

  1. Bee June 12, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    (giggle) Sounds so much like something I’d do! Although I must say that was VERY misleading on the part of the restaurant. 😉

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface June 12, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      Terribly misleading. I wonder if they disguise it on purpose and make bets on whether the customers will take a taste.

  2. theorderexpert June 21, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Ugh, what a rude awakening! At least it was on the restaurant. I once was at a cafe in Paris, hungry, tired and jet lagged, when one of the guys from the cafe started setting the table where I was sitting. Hmm, I thought, here’s dinner! After he placed a plate of steak and vegetables on the table in front of me, I realized he was setting the table for himself for dinner and wanted me to move…hahaha! I know you are not big on awards, but that’s not going to stop me from letting you know I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award. 🙂 I really do enjoy your blog. Cheers, Rashelle

  3. natasiarose June 27, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    Omg! Apparently I need to go to the salvation army more often!

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface July 3, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      I have found some good stuff in thrift stores…definitely not every time, but the occasional cashmere sweater or leather sofa makes it worthwhile to look.

Leave a Reply

