Big and Small

14 May

My life has undergone significant changes this year. So has my body. Most of my clothes are two sizes too big.

I can’t afford a new wardrobe. I was smaller and then I got bigger. I thought I would never be smaller again, so I got rid of my smaller clothes. Now I am smaller but I can’t get rid of my bigger clothes. This is a problem.

Who wants to hear someone complain about losing weight? Not very many people. Of this I am certain.

I am happy to have a more active lifestyle, which is cheaper than a gym membership and more effective.

I have stairs in my life. I have a job where I can’t sit down or stay in one place. I have laundry facilities outside the home. I don’t know where various things are at home, so I spend a fair amount of time walking in circles, looking around and inside and through and under and behind. I am using all of the prepositions I can think of.

Months after moving, we still have Mystery Boxes. If you have ever moved, you probably know exactly what Mystery Boxes are.

We also have a shortage of furniture. We left things behind. Big things. Things that held smaller things. Where do the smaller things go when they are no longer held by the bigger things? They go on the floor. I can’t afford to get new bigger things to hold the smaller things. This is a problem.

These problems are not big problems.

I have loose clothing. I need to step over things on the floor.

These problems are small.

5 Responses to “Big and Small”

  1. David Jensen May 21, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Fine item. Touch of lightness, reverse spin on an all-to-familiar, speaking for myself. Thanks.

  2. pegoleg May 30, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    Interesting financial summary – thanks! Having less stuff and less you is all good, right? Although I’m kind of suprised it’s not all organized – that doesn’t sound like you.

    I have one word of advice on the too-big clothing: Goodwill. Or its equivalent. Since I’ve lost a lot of weight I’ve enjoyed replacing my entire wardrobe at thrift stores.

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface June 1, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      Always nice to hear from you. Thankfully, I have made significant progress in organization since I wrote that post. A thrift store may indeed help, if I can find a good one. The clearance section in certain stores is also useful.

  3. sujana6 June 4, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    I just moved last week and let’s just say there’s one too many mystery boxes lying around the house yet to be opened 🙂

Leave a Reply

