January: Your Pants or Your Life

3 Jan

The month of January has come around again and people want to be perfect. It happens every year.

No point in trying to overhaul your life all at once. Relax.

Just pick one specific problem to solve. When that is done, think of another problem.

CAUTION: Be sure not to think of all of the problems at once! That is a rookie mistake. You might end up catatonic.

Recently, I thought about my pants and felt annoyed. I realized that I had a pants problem. Some pants were too big, some were too small, some were too long, and most of the pants were not where they were supposed to be. (I was going to say that some of the pants were “too old”, but let’s be realistic — too old means too small.)

I have the pant situation under control now, thanks to some hemming, some hanging, and some handing off to charity. I have nine pairs of pants, and that is plenty.

Pants can be symbolic of life. I have watched What Not to Wear enough times to know that I am supposed to dress for the life I want, and the body I have. Those shiny, stretchy, hot pink pants I used to wear would not work for me now. I am a decade older, I am a size larger, and I go out less frequently. This sounds bad, but it isn’t. I would not trade the last decade for a trim waistline and a pair of pink pants.

There is a happy middle ground between pink pants and mom jeans, however, and that is where I am staying.

10 Responses to “January: Your Pants or Your Life”

  1. thoughtsofthewanderingkind January 3, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Haha.. you inspire me to go through my pants. There are definitely some in my drawers that have seen better days…

  2. bigsheepcommunications January 3, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    There are whole continents between pink pants and mom jeans! Glad you found your happy pants place. Cleaned out my closet last month and I’m down to only 5 pairs of pants, none of which REALLY fit right.

  3. jaredblakedicroce January 3, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    HAHA, laughing hard at the rookie mistake bit. Inspiring and thought provoking as-per usual.
    Rayme, hope your 2012 is wondrous.

  4. worrywarts-guide-to-weight-sex-and-marriage January 3, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    We downsized this year from a five bedroom family home to a two room empty nest, hence, I brought two suit cases of clothing (which double as dresser drawers under the bed). I brought ONE pair of pants. It has taken me six months to realize I need at least two pairs of pants. Your post has inspired me to go shopping. 🙂

  5. Sandy Sue January 3, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    I would gladly take Mom Jeans if they were a few sizes smaller than the pink pants I have now.
    Thanks for visiting my site and leaving your footprint. Now I can come explore your great blog.

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface January 11, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      Size isn’t everything, and pink is only a color. I happen to like pink but these pants were stretchy and a little shiny and I can’t pull that off any more.

Leave a Reply

