Your Clutter Just Wants You to Be Happy

7 Dec

“Never miss an opportunity to make others happy, even if you have to leave them alone in order to do it.”—Unknown

Could some of your clothes make you happy by leaving your closet? Would the disappearance of that pile of papers put a spring in your step?

If the glass hummingbird figurine your grandmother gave you when you were in grade school suddenly took flight through an open window, would you breathe a sigh of relief?

Imagine that your clutter wants what is best for you.

If only the expired coupons had hands, they would toss themselves right into the waste basket. If the shoes that hurt your feet could walk on their own, they would have shuffled off to the thrift store ages ago.

Those old VHS tapes regret taking up your shelf space. They don’t want to stand in your way. They want you to be fulfilled, to live the life you have always dreamed of.

Make it an amicable parting of ways.

8 Responses to “Your Clutter Just Wants You to Be Happy”

  1. Allison G. Martin December 7, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    I think I need to have the “It’s not me, it’s you” talk with many items in my closets. It’s good to know these items want to leave my house as much as I do.

  2. jaredblakedicroce December 7, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Hrm….. I wonder what my dumbbell-footrests desire for me… 🙂
    (pick me up… no — no — no… now put me down. AGAIN! Weeee!!)

  3. notesfromrumbleycottage December 7, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    I have been doing a lot of clutter removal this year. Many clothes have been donated to worthy places. I actually threw away a pair of capris that had been stretched out during my fat days. It gets smaller, eventually.

  4. lunasealife December 7, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Ha! Thanks for flipping the perspective! 🙂

  5. PL Holden December 8, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    I am in the midst of trying to make room for our xmas tree and kind of digging my way thru the clutter, this post is just what I need right now. I’m overwhelmed!!! please say a prayer 4 me:)

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface December 8, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

      Thank you all for commenting. I wish for easy clutter break-ups for all of you, especially during this busy month!

  6. Chiara December 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Love this post! I’m a messy person by nature but clearing up my clutter, and saying goodbye to everything that deserves it, is one of my favorite things!

  7. l0ve0utl0ud December 30, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    What a great way of seeing clutter! I am decluttering my home in preparation for the New Year and this has given me some positive inspiration for an afternoon of sorting out my things!

Leave a Reply

