Thinking Thankful Thoughts, November 2011

16 Nov

Some Things I Feel Thankful For, in No Particular Order:

Hemmed slacks

Crisp sweet apples, especially the tiny ones

Intelligent writers who hold my attention and make me think

Quiet mornings when I can reflect on all manner of things

Sincere friends, supportive family and other fine folks (especially my husband)

Warm Fall breezes that make my skin tingle

Optimism (and the occasional delusion)

Cold filtered water at my fingertips

Being of sound mind and body

Flannel sheets and king size pillows

Nasal decongestants that actually work

A clean bathroom (especially one I didn’t clean myself)

Merino wool and cashmere sweaters

Living in a free country

A piece of music titled “Sheep May Safely Graze”

Nutrition labels

The french fries at Elephant Bar (forget the nutrition label on that one)

My blog readers

21 Responses to “Thinking Thankful Thoughts, November 2011”

  1. georgettesullins November 16, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    Put the flannel sheets on last weekend. Comfy! With ruffles on the trim, shabby chic. Good thoughts, good dreams. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Andrea November 16, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    so beautiful! I think I may take your lead and post my own today!

  3. angrymiddleagewoman November 16, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Ahh, the joy of a quiet morning . . . there are too few of those in my world. Great list!

  4. Dianna November 17, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    Wonderful list! So many things we just take for granted.

  5. Miss Demure Restraint November 17, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    A great list of things to be thankful for, but I’m especially impressed with your inclusion of delusion. It gives the whole piece a reality and earthiness.

    Very nice poem.

  6. districtofchic November 18, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    mmmm, I love quiet mornings and flannel sheets!

  7. Sarah Schoelkopf November 19, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    I like the thankful thoughts!

  8. Jacqueline November 21, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    Great list! You’ve inspired me to make one! 🙂

  9. jaredblakedicroce November 29, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    The sequencing of this list made me laugh aloud, many times, as my mind toiled in vein to find a semblance of organization, and my logic constantly argued back that there was none — yet, somehow, it flowed! haha.

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface November 29, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

      I’m glad to hear it. I actually rearranged the list a few times, but mainly just to balance the visual shape, as some of the lines were so much longer than others.

  10. James Eberts December 9, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Love the one-liners! I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

