Mental Magnets

9 Nov
“Optimism is a happiness magnet. If you stay positive, good things and good people will be drawn to you.”—Mary Lou Retton

Have you ever noticed that when you get a new car (even a used car) you start seeing that model of car everywhere — as if you had just acquired the top-selling vehicle in the nation?

Similarly, when you have just been dumped by your sweetheart and you are moping around all alone, thinking about the happy times before your beloved kicked you to the curb, you can be sure that blissful couples will appear at every turn, cuddling and sighing contentedly.

I believe the human mind seeks familiarity. We see whatever we are thinking about.

We may feel as though we are drawing these things toward ourselves like a magnet, when perhaps we are simply more attuned to what has been there all along.

Either way, it seems to be a good idea to focus on what you want in your life, rather than what is wrong or what is missing.

Don't be this guy.

17 Responses to “Mental Magnets”

  1. Kate Kresse November 9, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    So wonderfully said. It is essential to maintain and cultivate a positive attitude or one cannot move forward. I attempt to do that too and that is why I blog :-). i love your photograph of the gargoyle, too! My blog is over at http://believeanyway.wordpress.com

  2. t November 9, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    Great advice – i’ll keep it in mind for the next time my wife tries to explain how out-of-fashion my pleated trousers are!

    And yes, she also gets upset that i regularly call them “trousers”.

  3. bigsheepcommunications November 9, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    Simple, but true. A great reminder : )

  4. reelingintheyears.wordpress.com November 9, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Agreed! I was just explaining this to my son yesterday!

  5. mrsbear November 12, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    I do remember being pregnant and noticing pregnant women wherever I went. It wasn’t an epidemic, just me seeking out the same.

    This is solid advice. Not always easy to follow in practice.

  6. pegoleg November 15, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Good advice. Hard to do, like so many things, but still, good advice.

    I don’t remember giving permission for you to use that picture of me???

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface November 15, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

      Haha, I bought that gargoyle many years ago while I was moping around alone, in the mall. I saw it and realized that it was what I probably looked like when I was moping. I keep him around as a reminder to SMILE.

  7. pinkandplum November 15, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    I could not agree more. I tend to always see what I don’t have… actually blogging has really helped me see how fabulous life is- even if it is because you got to eat a delicious meal or wear your favorite shoes! Stay positive always! Great post.

  8. angrymiddleagewoman November 16, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    I’ve tried to live by this philosophy since reading The Secret. That book was a little “out there” for me, but the premise of living positively and leaving negativity behind appeals to me. Even if it doesn’t alway bring you every thing you want, it’s a much happier way to live your life! Great post, wonderful blog.

  9. JNYnita March 12, 2013 at 6:29 am #

    Reblogged this on JNY's Link.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet Treasures - November 10, 2011

    […] “Focus on what you want in your life, rather than what is wrong or what is missing” Mental Magnets – A Clean Surface […]

Leave a Reply

