Self-Service

19 Oct

Recent events have led me to the rather obvious conclusion that I can reduce my stress level and even simplify my life to a great degree simply by focusing more of my energy on myself.

Shocking, isn’t it?

I often come across The Usual Free Advice about how to feel better and find inspiration by focusing on helping others through volunteer work or other selfless pursuits. This is excellent advice for those who have a natural inclination to focus too much on themselves.

On the other hand, those who have spent decades focused on the needs of others may realize, as I have, that too much outward focus eventually becomes detrimental, and the solution sometimes lies in the opposite direction.

I am taking a minimalist approach to stress. Less outward focus means more inward focus.

7 Responses to “Self-Service”

  1. jmlindy422 October 25, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    Beautiful photo and such a true sentiment. I am a better mother, writer, wife when I take care of myself. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Martha (MM) October 27, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Excellent thoughts and so true! Thanks so much for stopping by this week. I’m looking forward to your future posts 🙂

  3. Martha (MM) October 27, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Sorry, put the wrong link on the last comment, this one goes to my blog 🙂

  4. bronxboy55 October 31, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Good luck finding that balance, Rayme. Easier said than done, but you already know that.

  5. slipslap November 14, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    inner focus! I agree completely
    and striving to experience the passage of time as a child
    and smiling at every stranger who meets your eyes on the street
    🙂

Leave a Reply

