Homemade Sugar Scrub (soft feet for less money)

5 Oct

Some time ago, I read a recipe for homemade sugar scrub (something I normally purchase for use on my feet). I thought it was a terrific money-saving idea, but I promptly forgot where I had seen it.

For those who are unfamiliar with sugar scrubs or salt scrubs, the grains exfoliate the skin and the oil softens it. Normally, these scrubs have a scent, such as lavender or grapefruit.

Having recently exhausted my current supply of purchased sugar scrub, I resolved to try making my own. I filled the container with a mix of olive oil, granulated sugar and vanilla extract. I would have preferred a citrus extract, but the whole point of this exercise was to avoid a trip to the store, so vanilla was fine. I didn’t measure at all, but simply matched the general consistency to the scrub I had used previously.

The resulting batch was a success. As a bonus, in addition to being soft, my feet now smell like cookies!

CAUTION: If you use any oil based product in the shower, be sure you have a non-slip mat to avoid breaking your neck!

26 Responses to “Homemade Sugar Scrub (soft feet for less money)”

  1. lexy3587 October 5, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    ooh, i’m goign to have to try that! and resist the urge to eat it 😛

  2. bigsheepcommunications October 5, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Smelling like cookies is way better than smelling like regular old feet. My parched feet with the cracking heels are envious of how soft your feet look.

  3. natasiarose October 6, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Ooo I love smelling like cookies! Also- fab nail polish!

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface October 8, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      Thanks, Natasia. The polish is new and is labeled “Sally Hansen, Complete Salon Manicure”, color “Raisin the Bar”.

  4. reelingintheyears.wordpress.com October 6, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    OK–am doing this tonight, Rayme! LOVE feet massage and treatments.

  5. notesfromrumbleycottage October 7, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    I need to try this one which requires me finding a recipe. I work best with recipes.

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface October 8, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

      I’m sure there are plenty of recipes online. I once had a grapefruit scented scrub that I really liked, so I recommend trying a citrus variety. I know I have some rose oil somewhere, so my next batch may be rose scented.

  6. yisha October 8, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    right, i need to care mine, wish me luck!

  7. morepicklesplease October 9, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Love this! I’m going to make it tomorrow.

  8. Hassie (short for Hasseltine!) October 11, 2011 at 6:51 am #

    Very good, Rayme! You’re a smart lady. Scrubs like this have cost me around $20.00.
    P.S. Your name is new to me, also!! Your friend, Hassie.

  9. Danny Tanner October 11, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I’m going to make my brother-in-law, Jesse, try this! Nasty feet…nasty.

  10. pegoleg October 12, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    I wanna eat that stuff. Maybe I’d better stick with a pumice.

  11. minimalistlifestyle October 14, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    May seem weird for a guy to comment, but great idea. I will be trying this for sure. Minus the nail polish:)

    Mark

    http://www.minimalistlifestyle.wordpress.com

  12. Thundercows October 21, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely try that one.
    My feet definitely need some extra care recently: They work all day long and need to receive some treat, from time to time. 🙂

  13. Lady bonbon January 3, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I actually find that homemade scrubs are the best.. at least you know whats in it 🙂
    thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

