Back to Pencils, Books, and Dirty Looks

17 Aug

If you are a parent, or an experienced student, you know that paperwork is a key part of the back to school process.

Fortunately, most schools have the important information online, so if you misplace those important papers (or never receive them in the first place), you can still have access to much of the information you need. Later, you can even check your students’ grades online.

We never received the promised back-to-school information packet in the mail, but thanks to the internet, it all worked out.

I spent an entire morning at a middle school orientation, and it was no more pleasant for me than it was for my children. This is saying a lot, because I made them wear their uniforms for orientation day, only to find that virtually all of the other students wore their street clothes. There is nothing like standing out on your first day at a new school district where you don’t know anyone. Bless their hearts for not complaining about my error.

I made my way through crowds. Why am I waiting in line while others inexplicably step ahead?

I became flustered. What do you mean you don’t have my son’s schedule in the stack?

I ignored the standard fundraising promotions. No, I don’t want to join the PTA, can I go home now?

Frankly, I think being a middle school parent is nearly as bad as being a middle school student!

11 Responses to “Back to Pencils, Books, and Dirty Looks”

  1. becomingcliche August 17, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    I feel your pain. One of mine just started high school, and it’s a whole new and rather unpleasant experience made worse by the fact that I can’t accept that I am OLD enough to have a high-schooler. Hope the transition is smooth.

  2. bigsheepcommunications August 18, 2011 at 3:21 am #

    Go to class, do your homework, avoid the mean girls, and remember there is life after middle school. Best wishes for a good school year : )

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface August 18, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      Thanks. I hope they meet some nice kids in their classes. Apparently, the orientation day campus tour group kids were not so nice. =(

  3. Deborah the Closet Monster August 18, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    I am ever so excited to experience these things firsthand! :p

  4. notesfromrumbleycottage August 22, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    I hate the collecting of school supplies. There is always something weird on the list. Plus, I have not bought the rest of the kleenexes, anti-bacterial wipes and ziploc bags yet.

  5. katherinesimms August 23, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Why does the orientation process have to be so painful? You’d think that after years and years of the same stuff they could find a way to liven it up a bit or streamline the information some. The right of passage for parents and students, that is called middle school, was designed by the meanest person in the history of mankind. Good luck this year. Paperwork is only the beginning of this ride!

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface August 23, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, Katherine. Yes, I was a bit disappointed when I took my son to the new student orientation and found that they said the same things I had already heard in the parent orientation. He was very bored, and there was nothing helpful about it for him.

  6. pegoleg August 24, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    You have some magically wonderful children if they didn’t make your life hell for insisting on the uniforms.

    Our school started a new year by allowing khakis for junior-high kids only, as well as the standard navy blue uniform pants. On the first day of school I dropped off my kid, proudly wearing the khakis she had to have. Everybody else was wearing blue pants. Her life was blighted forever because I wouldn’t turn around and take her home immediately.

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface August 24, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      Oh my! Blighted FOREVER. That sounds quite serious.
      My kids do plenty of complaining normally, but I guess they were more concerned about other problems that day. My logic was that they were on campus, therefore the uniform policy was in effect. Also, the high school takes photos on orientation day, and I thought the middle school would do the same, another reason for the uniform – but no uniforms and no photos. I’m not even sure why they needed to be there, frankly. It was lame.

Leave a Reply

