“Montreal” Spicy Potatoes and Onions

3 Aug

I like short recipes with very few ingredients. I own a cookbook called “The Best Ever Three & Four Ingredient Cookbook” but I rarely use it, because I often make up my own recipes.

One of my simplest personal recipes is a potato and onion dish. It has four ingredients.

Before it cooks, it looks like this:

“Montreal” Spicy Potatoes and Onions

potatoes (unpeeled)

onions (any color)

olive oil

Spicy Montreal Steak seasoning (by McCormick ‘Grill Mates’)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Cut the potatoes and onions in slices or chunks. (Thickness of the potatoes will determine the cooking time. Leave the onions thicker than the potatoes because they cook faster and you don’t want them to burn.) I like a mix of approximately 3/4 potatoes and 1/4 onion. Use a baking dish large enough to allow for stirring without overflow.

Mix the potatoes and onions in the baking dish with enough olive oil to coat them. Sprinkle generously with the Spicy Montreal Steak seasoning and mix well.

Bake, stirring every 10 or 15 minutes. The time depends on the thickness of the potato pieces and the size of the baking dish. I have found that a convection oven works well and takes about 40 minutes, but the potatoes are less browned than they would be in a traditional oven.

14 Responses to ““Montreal” Spicy Potatoes and Onions”

  1. bigsheepcommunications August 3, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Short recipe, few ingredients – you’re speaking my language!

  2. Erica August 6, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and your kind comments. I, too, am a big fan of easy, quick food preparation. Love potatoes, this recipe sounds nice. Not sure Spicy Montreal Steak seasoning would be available in Australia, but I’m sure there are equivalent seasonings here!

    • Rayme Wells @ A Clean Surface August 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

      Thanks, Erica. Yes, I’m sure you can come up with something good. McCormick is one of the top selling spice companies in the U.S. so it is common here.

  3. mysoulforsale August 8, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Looks lovely. I do something similar with just potatoes, olive oil, and whatever spices I feel like using that day (usually something to complement what the potatoes are being served alongside). Totally digging the onions idea, and will be giving it a shot. Thanks for the post!

  4. pegoleg August 9, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    Hey, I actually have all those ingredients on hand. I love that Montreal seasoning, but haven’t used it except on steak. I’m going to try it on veggies.

    • Rayme Wells of A Clean Surface August 9, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      Maybe you will eat more veggies that way, Pegoleg!

      • pegoleg August 9, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

        That’s my hope. That in some alternative universe somewhere, applying Montreal seasoning to overcooked lima beans will make them taste like steak and potatoes. Yum.

      • Rayme Wells of A Clean Surface August 9, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

        Haha, well, it might help if they were not overcooked to begin with.

  5. ClosetCast August 10, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    looks so delicious!!
    kirin
    http://www.closetcast.com

  6. Ashley [Above Rubies] August 25, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Oh delicious! I make something similar to this pretty regularly because I too am a huge fan of simple and easy! I’m so glad to know that someone else out there loves those onions too! I spend most of the meal time watching my husband pick them all out. Thank you so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

