Wanting Less, Being Happy, Living Now

16 Jun

I was thinking about writing a post on the topic of being happy with less, and losing the urge to accumulate things.

While researching quotes, I came across a blog post from Lori Deschene of Tiny Buddha about just that topic, which saves me some trouble.

To absorb the wisdom of Tiny Buddha, click on the link below.

How to Want Less and Be Happy About It | Tiny Buddha: Wisdom Quotes, Letting Go, Letting Happiness In.

To absorb the wisdom of A Clean Surface, keep reading.

There have been times in my life when I have had more, and times when I have had less.  During my early adulthood, I worked long hours and had no family, thus I had income to spare. Sometimes, I had so much cash flow I would forget to cash my paychecks.

These days, everything is reversed.  I work fewer hours, I have a family, and I don’t have a penny to spare.  I never forget a paycheck.

Was I happier when I had money?  No, not really.

Was I more relaxed when I had money?  Oh my, yes.

I would not trade my family for all the money in the world, eternal youth, or pure relaxation.

I am living now — not in some theoretical future life or idealized fantasy of perfection.

I choose now.  I choose love.

7 Responses to “Wanting Less, Being Happy, Living Now”

  1. bigsheepcommunications June 16, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Choosing now and choosing love is harder than it seems, don’t you think? So many people are obsessed with money and stuff, but beyond that, I think the whole idea that we’re supposed to be happy all the time is misguided. There are so many more important things and while I hate to plug my blog on your blog, I really feel strongly about this whole topic and wanted to share my thoughts. http://bigsheepcommunications.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/the-sisyphus-corporation-is-now-hiring/

    • acleansurface June 16, 2011 at 11:58 am #

      Thank you. Yes. There is always an “easy way out” in any situation, which is often not the best way to go. I actually remember your Sisyphus post without even looking at it, Big Sheep, but I will read it again, because it will probably do me good.

  2. Frankie June 16, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Awe…that’s awesome. I can’t wait to have my own family one day and finally know what that feels like. 🙂

  3. pegoleg June 22, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    You are so right. Money is far, far from the most important thing in life.

    But that is only if you have enough of it to get by. If not, it becomes very important (ie. Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs). While it is true that money can’t buy happiness, the lack of it can rent a lot of unhappiness.

  4. California Kid July 12, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Less is more. Money can’t buy the important things in life – happiness, health and love. Live for today because it’s all we have. Tomorrow is a hope, yesterday is an experience.

Leave a Reply

