Change

9 Feb

I have been posting on this blog once a week, but this week I had expected that I might not write at all.

I thought, “I have too much anxiety this week.  My life is turning upside down.  I can’t think straight.  I can’t write.”

Then I realized, “That is exactly why I should write.”

Recently, I took some pictures of Spring branches and used them in a post.  The branches were bare to start with, but tiny buds turned to flowers and a few leaves.  The photos showed beauty, but they also showed change.

Sometimes you think you have it all together.

Everything changes. 

Some people looked at my photos of blossoming  branches and made comments about the speed of nature and the speed of life.

Sometimes life is too slow and we are impatient.  Sometimes it is too fast and we want it to stop.

Today, thirteen days after I brought them home, the branches still hold my attention.  Most of the flowers have now withered or shattered.

Petals are strewn across the tablecloth.  That is not a serious problem for me.  Something is always strewn across the tablecloth around here, and it is normally far worse and more difficult to remove than a few pink petals.

The branches have changed again.  They are not bare, however.  The few green leaves have become many.  At this point, there are more leaves than flowers.  Something dies and something else appears.

I am thinking about closed doors and open windows.  I am thinking about caterpillars and butterflies.  I am thinking about the nature of change.  I am thinking about chaos, about simplicity, and about Life, and how it is never the way we plan it out, or the way we expect it to be.

That is the adventure of it, right?

Sometimes life is messy.

Our family is preparing for a move.  This is a forced downsizing of our household, for financial reasons.  My life will change dramatically over the next six weeks.  Such is the nature of life.

Life is messy and stressful.

Life is surprising and interesting.

Life changes and we change with it.

One of my mothers-in-law ( I have two) refers to problems, difficulties, or struggles as Periods of Growth — as in, “Her husband left her with six children and no support, and wow, she experienced a real Period of Growth.”

My Period of Growth will be relatively minor, but I will grow and I will change.

It will be interesting to see how I turn out.

21 Responses to “Change”

  1. jmlindy422 February 9, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    “Forced downsizing.” I’ve been there. It isn’t easy. Good luck with it. Moving is bad enough, but when you’re moving because you HAVE to rather than because you want to, it’s all the more difficult.

  2. Emily February 9, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I’m so with you on this. my life has gone crazy and its such an overwhelming task to put it right. my family are having financial problems, and my life seemed to be ruined when I fell behind on homework, couldn’t find time to exercise or be healthy, and I still have to face the stress of so many exams that I’m expected to do well on…
    and to tell the truth, I’m scared. but it’s good to know there are people who are going through the exact same thing, and are willing to help. Right?

    • acleansurface February 9, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Yes, it’s always good to know that we are not alone. Good luck with school, Emily, and don’t be afraid to ask people for help.

  3. Dave February 9, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    The word you are looking for is “entropy”.

    Clausius chose the word “entropy” because the meaning, from Greek, en+tropein, is “content transformative” or “transformation content” (“Verwandlungsinhalt”)

    It gives us water from ice and butterflies from caterpillars…

  4. suburbansatsangs February 9, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Change seems to be the theme right now, in the world and in our lives. I saw a quote yesterday: “When everything is changing, you should probably change too.” Often, we don’t have a choice. Best of luck with the move–hope this change ends up being a good one for you.

    • acleansurface February 9, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Thanks, Suburban. I think it will be, in the long run.

  5. Aligaeta February 9, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Change is difficult. It is facing the unknown. Have faith my friend. I don’t know if you have read my post on downsizing, but I hope you do and find strength and courage as I did.

    http://aligaeta.wordpress.com/2011/01/04/surviving-poverty-the-blessing-of-the-farm/

    And I am glad you chose to write about it, you will find that you are not alone.

    • acleansurface February 9, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      I had read your post before, Aligaeta, and had liked it. Thanks for giving me a chance to read it again. I am am very thankful that my family is intact, and that it is just a money issue.

  6. Frankie Ortiz February 9, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    This was a great post. We sometimes forget that life IS an adventure and we get wrapped up in our daily routine, work, and stress. I have never been so inspired hearing problems are really “periods of growth” in disguise. That’s how we should look at them. Without these daily challenges, we cannot grow. Thanks again for the daily inspiration!

    • acleansurface February 9, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      I’m so glad it was meaningful for you, Frankie. Coincidentally, “Frankie” is also the name of the woman who talks about “periods of growth”. How do you like that?

  7. amritasharma February 11, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    It is often the tough times that shapes who we are. Problems are opportunities to strengthen our character.

    Best Wishes,
    Amrita

  8. Angel February 11, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I like your post. I like simplicity. However, chaos….not for me. I too am downsizing soon, maybe as soon as next weekend. Life is stressful when it throws big changes at us. But we just have to learn to roll with it.

  9. DownDogDiva February 12, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    “Periods of Growth”. it’s a bit like having an “opportunity for reflection”. Aahh life. Good luck with your period of change!

    • acleansurface February 12, 2011 at 8:57 am #

      An opportunity for reflection…I haven’t heard that one before. Thanks, DownDog.

  10. Cari February 12, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    I’ve been there too. Everything just ends up working out. Funny how it happens that way. Thank you for stopping by my blog 🙂

  11. Christine Smith-Johnson March 5, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    My heart feels for you as I always moved around alot growing up. Even though I now dread the moves, it’s not ALL bad. It can also be exciting and a fresh start for everyone. I personally chose a small town for my children to keep them from being uprooted if we had to move. They have been in the same school system from kindergarden through college, with the same friends as well as new friends. If we had to move, we were still in the same district, so it was easier on the kids. Packing up and leaving friends behind when young is a hard thing to swallow. Grades and self-esteem can drop in the blink of an eye in new surroundings. I made a vow to myself to not change everything in their life like when I was growing up. It gives them a place of belonging… that much needed security, to be able to deal with issues later in life. I love seeing them with friends they have known since elementary school. (It can also be dramatic sometimes but it all works out in the end). I hope your new place brings you many years of happiness.

Leave a Reply

