My So-Called Clean Surface

30 Oct

Guess what?  I’m not perfect.  Hopefully, this is not a surprise to you.

I like to write about Simplicity–some of the ways I try to make life smoother, more efficient, and more relaxed.

Sometimes I also write about Chaos–which is often closer to reality.  I aim for more simplicity than chaos, but life doesn’t always work out that way.

Today is October 30th, and there are some things I had committed to do this month that have not happened yet, and I can forget about doing them on Halloween.  The commitments were only to myself, so no one else will be disappointed.  This month started out with Simplicity, but it has been full of sick children, visiting relatives, business obligations, the death of a family friend…and let’s not forget my November 2nd mail-in ballot, that isn’t completed and will need to be hand delivered in a few days.  Chaos!

So, I’m not as ahead of the holidays as I would like to be (see \”Getting Ahead of The Holidays\” post), but that is exactly why I like to start so early;  I want to make sure everything gets done.  I had planned to address some holiday card envelopes this month, but I only got as far as placing the boxes of cards on the mantle. 

And while I am on the topic of Chaos, my zen closet (see \”My Zen Closet\” post) is getting cleaned this week, because it is not-so-zen right now.  Not to mention the fact that my bed is not made today (see \”Why Making The Bed Makes a Difference\” post) and, I have even started writing a draft on how to prevent paper clutter—while my coffee table is covered in election booklets and ballots, and there are few pieces of mail on the floor.

The simple truth is that my own struggles with Chaos are the very reason I feel qualified to write about Simplicity.  I do often triumph over the Chaos, and I have figured out what works and what doesn’t.  I battle clutter, I get behind in my tasks at times, I sometimes change my mind, and I even measure wrong (see \”A Tale of Two Measurements\” post), but I don’t give up.

I am being honest in every post, about the Simplicity I strive for–and very often achieve!  It’s an ongoing process, however.  No surface is ever clean for long, and I am constantly working at it.  This was a messy month, and there will be others, for me… and for all of you, I am sure.

Leave a Reply

