Could You Live With Only 100 Items?

27 Oct

Are you familiar with the minimalist trend of paring life down to only 100 possessions, or even fewer?  There are some other less specific and less arbitrary downsizing movements, but this one fascinates me precisely because it is so specific and arbitrary.

In case you haven’t heard about this trend, here is a short video about it:  100 Items or Less (CBS News)  Also read more about the challenge on Dave Bruno’s  100 Thing Challenge page.

100 items…  Could you do it?  The truth is:  You could do it, although you probably don’t want to, or need to.   Anyone could do it.

I find the idea inspiring.  Okay, not inspiring enough to actually do–I’m not that hard-core about clean surfaces, but…it does makes me wonder!

If I had to choose 100 items to keep, which items would I choose? It reminds me of the old question: “What would you save from your home if it were in fire?”  Hmmm.  If you could safely save 100 things, that would be a pretty weak fire, wouldn’t it?  But you get the idea.  What do you need?  What do you use?  What do you love?

I am going to think about my 100 items, and come up with a list, which I will publish in a later post.

Feel free to share your own list!  I would love to hear anyone’s thoughts on this.

2 Responses to “Could You Live With Only 100 Items?”

  1. Eugene Eric Kim October 28, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    The beauty (or perhaps curse) of digital technology is that, in a fire, you could simply reach for your hard drive, and you’d have a lifetime of memories stored in that box. I think sometime of my parent’s home where there are boxes and boxes of photos, and how devastated we’d all be if we had to choose to leave those behind. I probably had more photos on my little memory card from my trip to Korea than all of the photos in those boxes combined.

    • acleansurface October 29, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      So true, and the memory card only counts as one item out of 100. Photos are certainly the traditional answer to the fire question…but can you choose another 99 items for life?

Leave a Reply

